• The Hereward Saga

    by  • September 25, 2019 • 0 Comments

    Six books. An unforgettable cast of characters. One epic story. I’ve picked up a few new readers since the Dark Age saga launched, so it seemed like a good time to revisit the best-sellers that got me started. Wouldn’t want them to be forgotten. For a long time, Hereward’s story was barely remembered in...

    Read more →

    The Bear King – What Is It About?

    by  • June 25, 2019 • 0 Comments

    Here’s the blurb for The Bear King: Bridging the gap between ‘Game of Thrones’ and Bernard Cornwell comes the third and final chapter in James Wilde’s epic adventure of betrayal, battle and bloodshed . . . AD 375 – The Dark Age is drawing near . . .As Rome’s legions abandon their forts, chaos...

    Read more →

    Dark Age – Out In Paperback

    by  • April 4, 2019 • 0 Comments

    …soon, that is. The finished copies have just arrived from my publisher and look fantastic, I think. You can pre-order Dark Age from your favourite bookshop or get them online here. Here’s the blurb: Bridging the gap between ‘Game of Thrones’ and Bernard Cornwell comes the second chapter in James Wilde’s epic adventure of...

    Read more →

    Buy Pendragon At A Knock-Down Price

    by  • March 1, 2019 • 0 Comments

    If you’re thinking about sampling my new Dark Age series, now’s the time. The first book in the trilogy, Pendragon, will be available at just 99p as a Kindle Monthly Deal for a very short period. Find it here. The second book Dark Age is out now and the big wrap-up, The Bear King,...

    Read more →

    Be A Grim Wolf

    by  • February 21, 2019 • 0 Comments

    If you ever wondered why I chose these fellas to be the totem animals of the Grim Wolves, the Roman army arcani scouts in Pendragon, Dark Age and The Bear King, there’s a great article here: Wolves have many qualities, says Elli Radinger, among them altruism, respect for their elders, and a love of...

    Read more →

    The Bear King Is On The March

    by  • January 31, 2019 • 4 Comments

    When I start writing a book, I do a thousand words across the first hour of my working day every day, leaving me the rest of the session free to work on scripts and pitches. I slowly ramp that rate up as I get to know the characters and themes. I’m currently averaging about...

    Read more →

    Welcome To My Office

    by  • November 29, 2018 • 0 Comments

    Finished the first draft of a movie script today. That seemed good enough a reason to celebrate. When you spend all your working day in solitary confinement hunched over a screen, trust me, you seize every moment to embrace life. Took myself down to my current favourite libation emporium, the Hagen and Hyde in...

    Read more →

    Give Me All Your Mulled Wine

    by  • November 21, 2018 • 0 Comments

    One of the things I quickly learned as a writer is that you need to feed the soul to stay creative. Spend your hours stuck in your office in front of a screen cranking out a word-count, you kill your talent by degrees. As anyone who follows me on Instagram knows, I like to...

    Read more →


    by  • November 16, 2018 • 0 Comments

    Stepped my daily run back up to 7km. This week I’ve been heading out when it’s dark (with a head lamp to light the way). Totally different atmosphere, whether I’m tramping across Tooting Common or trundling through open countryside, seeing the occasional walker emerge from the gloom like a ghost. Running has been an...

    Read more →